> Español

Additional InformationEuropean Higher Education Area

The European Higher Education Area has been the process promoted by the European Union through which a European area of higher education has been created as a privileged means to promote mobility and employability of European citizens and the continent's global development, recognizing the role of universities in the enhancement of the European cultural dimension.

Objectives of the European Higher Education Area (EHEA)

  • Adoption of a structure of easily understandable and comparable European university degrees that promotes mobility and employability of European citizens and makes the European university system competitive on an international scale.
  • Establishment of a teaching system in two cycles, Undergraduate and Postgraduate.
  • Establishment of a system of academic assessment of the subjects (credits) and homogeneous qualifications throughout Europe, as a measure to promote the mobility of students and the transparency of the system.
  • Elimination of obstacles for the effective exercise of the right to free movement of students, professors, researchers and administrative staff.
  • Establishment of comparable pedagogical criteria and methodologies, ensuring the quality of university studies.
  • Provide a European dimension for higher education by promoting mobility programs and the development of joint curricula, research and training.
  • These objectives are included in the Bologna Declaration.

These objectives are included in the Bologna Declaration.

Main measures contemplated in the development of the European Higher Education Area (EHEA)

  • Establish a structure of official university studies in two cycles: Undergraduate and Postgraduate.
    This structure of university studies is regulated by Royal Decree 1393/2007 and Royal Decree 861/2010 (doctorate) modifying of the previous one.
  • Establish the European Diploma Supplement
  • Establish the European Credit System (ECTS) to measure the academic value of the subjects. The system of ECTS credits and qualifications is regulated by Royal Decree 1125/2003
  • New teaching and learning method.
    It is a commitment to the concept of "learning to learn" rather than the mere accumulation of knowledge. The participative classroom teaching and distance teaching are promoted as autonomous student learning through information search, group or online work, study effort.
    Greater importance is given to tutoring, continuous evaluation, the preparation of papers and projects either individually or in groups and the use of ICT (Information and Communication Technologies).

Through these pedagogical lines, the aim is to promote the concept of "Lifelong Learning" and attention to the different and changing profiles of students.

ECTS credit system

The implementation of the European ECTS credit system (European Credit Transfer System) is one of the measures established in the construction of the European Higher Education Area recommended in the Bologna Declaration and later.

ECTS credits were born with the European “SOCRATES-ERASMUS" mobility program, facilitating the equivalences and recognition of studies carried out in other countries of the European Union.

The ECTS credit allows to easily understand and compare the different educational systems, facilitate the recognition of professional qualifications and national and international mobility, with full recognition of the studies taken and increase collaboration between European universities.

The ECTS credit places value on the student's real learning effort, not exclusively on the teacher's class hours as established in the traditional credit concept.

The ECTS credit will have a minimum value of 25 hours and a maximum of 30 hours, the hours corresponding to the lectures, theoretical or practical, the hours of study, those dedicated to the realization of seminars, papers, internships and projects, and those required for the preparation and realization of the exams and evaluation tests.

Each academic course will have 60 credits.

The European ECTS credit is regulated by Royal Decree 1125/2003 of the Ministry of Education.

European Diploma Supplement (EDS)

The issuance of the European Diploma Supplement (EDS) is one of the measures established with the implementation of the European Higher Education Area.

Students who complete official university studies (Undergraduate degrees, Certificates of advanced study, Bachelor's degrees, etc.) can apply for the EDS. It is requested along with the issuance of the degree diploma in the General Courses Secretary.

The EDS is the document that accompanies each of the university degrees of an official nature and is valid throughout the national territory, with unified information, personalized for each university graduate, on the studies taken, the results obtained, the professional skills acquired and the level of their degree in the national system of higher education.

The EDS aims to increase the transparency of the various higher education degrees taught in European countries and facilitate their academic and professional recognition.

The EDS offers the student:

  • A more degree that is more understandable and easily comparable abroad
  • An accurate description of the university studies completed and the competences acquired during the study period
  • Objectivity and impartial judgment of his/her achievements and competences
  • Easier access to job opportunities or extension of studies abroad
  • An improvement in employability

EDS Contents:

  • Student's information
  • Information on the degree.
  • Information on the level of the degree.
  • Information about the content and results obtained.
  • Information on the function of the degree.
  • Additional Information.
  • Certification of the supplement.
  • Information on the national system of higher education.

EDS format:

  • The document format of the European supplements that are issued will be of identical size for all of them, standardized in UNE A-4 format (security paper model).
  • The EDS document issued by the Antonio de Nebrija University will include the Spanish coat of arms, the logo of the European Union (EU) and that of Europass, and the Antonio de Nebrija University coat of arms.
  • The Antonio de Nebrija University will issue an EDS document in Spanish and English.

The European Diploma Supplement is regulated by Royal Decree 22/2015 of the Ministry of Education.

Bologna declaration

The Bologna declaration of 1999, signed by 29 European ministers of education, marked the beginning of the convergence process towards the EHEA, which became a reality in 2010.

The declaration of Bologna is complemented by others made later by rectors (Salamanca 2001), students (Goteborg 2001) and ministers (Berlin 2003, Bergen 2005 y London 2007) that have been giving shape and precision to this process.